SET FOR BRITAIN 2009

On Monday 9th March 2009 Dr Douglas Naysmith MP and Dr Brian Iddon MP, Chairman and Vice-President of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, acted as hosts for SET for BRITAIN, a poster competition and exhibition for early-career researchers. The competition had attracted nearly six hundred entries in three separate sections and the top sixty entrants in each section brought their posters to Westminster to display in the House of Commons Terrace Marquee.

The idea for the SET for BRITAIN series of exhibitions had been conceived by Dr Eric Wharton and organised by him and his team since 1997 but had ended with his sudden and untimely death in 2007. The 2009 event was run by a working party which included Mrs Sue Wharton and representatives of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Institute of Physics, the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry and the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee. Additional support was received from the Institute of Biology, the International Agri-Technology Centre, LGC and Plant Impact plc.

The competitors came from all over the country and during the course of the day over sixty Members of the House of Commons and House of Lords visited the exhibitions in the Marquee to meet the presenters and see at first hand the high quality of research being carried out in British universities.

Each section of the competition was judged separately by a different panel of experts in the relevant scientific discipline. All agreed that the standard of entries was extremely high. In each section the winner received a medal and a cash prize and there were further prizes for the runners up. At the end of the evening an overall winner, selected from the winners of all three sections, was awarded the Westminster Medal in memory of Dr Eric Wharton. The prizewinners in each session are featured here.

Biological and Biomedical Sciences

The first session, for entries in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences category, ran from 12.30 pm to 2.30 pm.

Winner of group: £3,000 and Mendel Medal: Xiaoqi Feng, University of Oxford Male Meiotic Cells and their Tapetal Nurse Cells are Derived from Distinct Cell Lineages in Higher Plants



Presentation of the Mendel Medal: Winner Xaioqi Feng with Professor Alan Malcolm, Chairman of the judges for the Biosciences session, and Mrs Sue Wharton.

Three runner-up prizes of £1.000

James Bullock,

University of Cambridge Friction Forces in the Hairy Adhesive Pads in Beetles

Federico Dorati,

University of Reading A Threat to our Conkers? Characterisation of the Horse Chestnut Bleeding Canker Pathogen

Sue-Ann Watson,

University of
Southampton, National
Oceanography Centre
Acid Oceans and
Shellfish: Antarctic
Animals and Larvae are
Vulnerable to Ocean
Acidification in a highCO² World



James Bullock, Federico Dorati and Sue-Ann Watson, prizewinners in the Biosciences session, with Dr Douglas Naysmith MP and Dr Brian Iddon MP

The Westminster Medal in memory of Dr Eric Wharton was won by **Dr Marina Kuimova**, Imperial College London, winner of the Chemistry section, whose poster was judged to be the overall winner of SET for BRITAIN 2009.



Dr Doug Naysmith MP, Mrs Sue Wharton and Dr Marina Kuimova holding the Roscoe Medal for Chemistry (left) and the Westminster Medal.

Physical Sciences

The Physical Sciences session opened at 3.30 pm and finished at 5.30 pm. The entries were divided into Chemistry and Physics posters and were judged by separate judging panels.

Physics

Winner of group: £3,000 and Cavendish Medal: **Dr John Morton**, University of Oxford Solid State Quantum Memory Using Nuclear Spins In Silicon

One runner-up prize of £1,000 Mark Rayner, University of Oxford Making High Quality Muon Beams for Particle Physics



John Morton, winner of the Cavendish Medal, seen with Dr Cyril Isenberg, Chairman of the Physics Judging Panel, Dr Beth Taylor, Institute of Physics, Mrs Sue Wharton, Dr Simon Singh and Dr Brian Iddon MP



Mark Rayner receives his prize from Dr Simon Singh

Chemistry

Winner of group £3,000 and Roscoe Medal: **Dr Marina Kuimova**, Imperial College London *Microscale Viscosity and Disease: Intracellular Mobility Mapped*

LGC prize for analytical chemistry **Sally Peyman**, University of Hull *Lab-on-a-Chip Device for Performing Clinical Diagnostics within Seconds*



Dr Marina Kuimova with Professor Dave Garner, President, and Dr Richard Pike, Chief Executive, The Royal Society of Chemistry



Sally Peyman receives her prize from Dr Julian Braybrook, Head of Measurement R&D Strategy,

Engineering

The final session, for Engineering Posters, took place between 6.30 pm and 8.30 pm.

Winner of group: £3,000 and Engineering Medal: **Dr Eleanor Stride**, University College London

Engineering Microbubbles for Ultrasound Imaging and Therapy

The winners of the three runner-up prizes of £1,000:

Dan Allwood, University of Sheffield *Magnetic Nanowires in Engineering, Biology and Physics*

Dr Rebecca Cain, University of Warwick "Sounds of the City": Using Automotive Sound Quality Techniques to Engineer Positive Sounding Cities

Dr Ruth Oulton, University of Bristol Spins and Light for Quantum Computing



Mrs Sue Wharton presents Dr Eleanor Stride with the Engineering Medal



Dan Allwood receives his prize from Philip Greenish, Chief Executive of the Royal Academy of Engineering



Dr Rebecca Cain with Philip Greenish



Dr Ruth Oulton with Dr Doug Naysmith MP and Philip Greenish