# **SCIENCE DIARY**

#### **British Science Association 2014** Sir Walter Bodmer Award



Dr Anne-Maria Brennan has been awarded the British Science Association 2014 Sir Walter Bodmer Award. Dr Brennan, Principal Lecturer in Bioscience and Forensic Biology at London South Bank University, and representative of the Foundation for Science, Technology and Civilisation, was this year's winner of the award because of her passion and commitment to the work of the Association and her work in the area of the public engagement with science. She is seen here receiving the award from Sir Walter Bodmer at the recent British Science Festival.

## THE PARLIAMENTARY AND **SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE**

Tel: 020 7222 7085 annabel.lloyd@parliament.uk

Tuesday 21 October 17.30

#### Does The UK have the Infrastructure it needs?

Speakers: Nick Baveystock, Director General, Institution of Civil Engineers, Charlotte Holloway, Head of Policy, techUK

Monday 3 November 13.00-15.00 with EngineeringUK Big Bang @ Parliament

Tuesday 11 November 75th Anniversary Reception at **Buckingham Palace** 

Tuesday 18 November 08.30 **Energy Storage** 

Wednesday 26 November **Annual Luncheon** 

Tuesday 9 December 17.30 Dementia

#### THE ROYAL SOCIETY

The Royal Society hosts a series of free events, including evening lectures and conferences, covering the whole breadth of science, engineering and technology for public, policy and scientific audiences.

Details of all events can be found at www.royalsociety.org/events

#### THE ROYAL INSTITUTION

Details of future events can be found at www.rigb.org

Booking is essential. For more information and to book visit www.rigb.org

There is a charge for tickets. Members go

# PARLIAMENTARY OFFICE OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

For details of events organised by POST visit

http://www.parliament.uk/mps-lords-andoffices/offices/bicameral/post/post-events/

## THE INSTITUTION OF **MECHANICAL ENGINEERS**

For details of events visit: www.imeche.org/events

### THE LINNEAN SOCIETY OF LONDON

For details visit: www.linnean.org

More information on P&SC members' events can be found at: www.scienceinparliament.org.uk/ members-news



## **OFFICERS OF THE PARLIAMENTARY** & SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

President: The Lord Oxburgh KBE FRS Mr Andrew Miller MP Chairman: Deputy Chairman: Mr Tom Blenkinsop MP Mr Stephen Metcalfe MP

Hon Treasurer: The Lord Willis of Knaresborough Mr Stephen Mosley MP

Hon Secretary: Mr Paul Ridout Vice-Presidents:

Mr Philip Greenish CBE Mr John Slater Dr Stephen Benn Mr Atti Emecz

Professor Ian Haines Dr Guy Hembury

Professor Colin Seabrook MBE Advisory Panel: Dr Stuart Taylor

Mr David Youdan

Professor Alan Malcolm Secretariat: Mrs Annabel Lloyd

3 Birdcage Walk London SW1H 9JJ T: 020 7222 7085 F: 020 7222 7189

www.scienceinparliament.org.uk

Professor Alan Malcolm Editorial Assistant: Annabel Lloyd

Published by the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, 3 Birdcage Walk, London SW1H 9JJ,

Published four times a year. The 2014 subscripton rate is £80. Single numbers £20. ISSN 0263-6271

All enquiries, including those from members wishing to take the front or back covers, advertise in the journal or appear in the directory to Mrs Annabel Lloyd, Tel 020 7222 7085

Copyright ©2014 by Parliamentary and Scientific Committee. All rights reserved. None of the articles in this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form, or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. Typeset and printed by The Bridge Press