## **AGM 2023**

# Parliamentary and Scientific Committee - APPG Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

Held on Tuesday 25 April 2023 at 5:00pm

PRESENT Stephen Metcalfe MP (Chair), Viscount Stansgate, Baroness Julia Brown of Cambridge, Lord Trees, Chris Green MP, Colin Danson, Doris-Ann Williams, Guy Hembury, Michael Elves, Oliver Bennett, Tom Nicols, William Duncan, Peter Thorpe, Ion Secula, Benjamin Guedj, Cheryl Burgess, Isabel Spence, Karen Smith, Julia Parker, Daryl Howe, Ian Lucas, Meghna Ravishankar, Peter Anson, Rosalind Azouzi, Alan Peacock, Ryan Mercer, Barry Heseltine, Simon Waldron, John Slater, Anthony Kearns, Adrienn Tomar, Tim Julier, Seb Janner, Matt Rooney, Laura Kent, Jeff Llewellyn, Caroline Pritchard.

Leigh Jeffes, David Youdan and Karen Smith were in attendance.

#### 1 BUSINESS FROM THE CHAIR

The Chair reminded Attendees that in accordance with the rules governing the Annual General Meetings of All-Party Parliamentary Groups only Parliamentarians present may vote. However, all Attendees would be able to make statements and ask questions.

The Chair welcomed Baroness Brown to the meeting and thanked her in advance for the talk that she would be presenting to attendees at the close of the meeting. The Chair commented that he was pleased that the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee had had a productive year. He appreciated that meetings had returned to a face-to-face format within Parliament. He commented that an excellent programme of talks and meetings had been held in 2022 and continued into 2023. Indeed, the evening before on the 24 April an extremely good session had been presented by the National Physical Laboratory on the topic of 'Time'.

- 2. MINUTES of the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 15 March 2022. The minutes, which had been circulated, were agreed and signed.
- 3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS
- 3.1 Election of President

The election of Viscount Stansgate as President was proposed by the Chair, seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-con by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

3.2 Election of Chairman, Vice Chairman, Hon. Secretary, Hon.Treasurer and Vice-Presidents

The election of Stephen Metcalfe MP as Chair was proposed by Viscount Stansgate, seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-con by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

The election of the following Officers was proposed by the Chair, seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting:

Deputy Chairman
Ms Chi Onwurah MP

Hon Treasurer Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Hon Secretary
Ms Carol Monaghan MP

Vice-Presidents
Mr Atti Emecz
Professor Ian Haines
Dr Guy Hembury
Ms Doris-Ann Williams MBE
Professor Francesca Medda
Sir Peter Bottomley
Chris Green MP

3.3 Election of Council and Advisory Panel members for 2023/2024
The election the following members to the Council was proposed by the Chair, seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting:

Sir Peter Bottomley Colin Danson **Professor Michael Elves** Mr Atti Emecz Chris Green MP **Professor Ian Haines** Dr Guy Hembury Mr Paul Jackson John Lowe BEM Andrew Mackenzie Professor Francesca Medda Mr Stephen Metcalfe MP Ms Carol Monaghan MP Ms Chi Onwurah MP Professor Narender Ramnani Dr Elizabeth Rollinson Ms Doris-Ann Williams MBE Lord Willis of Knaresborough

The election of the following members to the Advisory Panel was proposed by the Chair, seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting:

Daniel Callaghan

#### 4. TO RECEIVE THE ANNUAL REPORT 2022

The Annual Report for 2022 had been circulated. The Chair proposed that this be adopted, this was seconded by Viscount Stansgate and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

Matt Rooney requested that the correct name of 'The Institution of Mechanical Engineers' should be used in the Annual Report and in the meeting papers.

#### 5.1 To receive the Financial Statement for 2022

The Treasurer reported on the Finance Report that had been circulated. The year-end result showed a surplus of £19k.

The Chair requested that the accounts for 2022 be adopted, this was proposed by Chris Green MP and seconded by Baroness Brown and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

## 5.2 Financial Estimates for 2023

The Treasurer advised that the 2023 budget had been based on the same level of membership subscriptions as had been achieved in 2023. She also noted that the membership invoices included a 3% increase from the 2022 figures. As a result the budget showed a proposed year end surplus of £13k.

The Chair proposed that the 2022 Budget be adopted; this was seconded by Chris Green MP and agreed nem-con by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

### 5.3 To ratify Subscriptions for 2023

The membership rates for 2023 had been circulated. Council had proposed a 3% increase for the year.

The Chair requested that the 2023 membership subscription rates be ratified. This was proposed by Viscount Stansgate and seconded by Baroness Brown and agreed nem-com by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

## 6 REPORT FROM THE COUNCIL

The report, covering resourcing the work of the Committee, Membership, the Programme, Science in Parliament, STEM for Britain and Social Media had been circulated.

Council had met four times during 2022.

The Chair advised that thanks to Leigh Jeffes and the P&SC Team there had been an increase in membership in the past year, Science in Parliament was now distributed to both Houses, there had been an excellent programme of events and STEM for Britain was an on-going success.

Leigh Jeffes thanked Lord Trees and William Duncan for their support with the P&SC journal, Science in Parliament, and expressed his thanks to the many excellent authors who contributed through the year.

The Chair proposed that the Report be approved; this was seconded by Viscount Stansgate and agreed nem-con by the Members of Parliament attending the meeting.

#### 7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

In response to a question, Karen Smith advised that membership fees can be paid by bankcard, and those requesting to make a payment in this way should email their request to her.

The meeting ended at 5:25 pm