





An All-Party Parliamentary Group

THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE PARLIAMENTARY AND SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE APPG was held on Monday 15th April 2024 at 5.00pm in the Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

Minutes

The meeting was Chaired by the Rt. Hon. Caroline Noakes MP Present: Parliamentary Members

Lord Bassam

Lord Berkeley

Lord Craig of Radley

Viscount Hanworth

Lord Mair CBE

Stephen Metcalfe MP

Carol Monaghan MP

Baroness Neville-Jones

Lord Northbrook

Baroness Northover

Lord Rooker

Viscount Stansgate

Lord Taylor of Holbeach CBE

Daniel Zeichner MP

Present: Non Parliamentary Members

Dr Peter Blair-Fish Dr William Duncan Dr Elizabeth Rollinson
Dr Natasha Boulding Liane Farrer Liz Rowsell OBE

Professor Dawn Bonfield

MBE Olivia Gaitonde Christina Ruiz Villena
David Bott Daniel Gardham Professor Michael Short

Dr Julian Braybrook Kyle Greenland Peter Styring
Roger Brown Professor Ian Haines Sharon Todd
Sarah Brown Dr Guy Hembury Dr Adrienn Tomor
Tim Brundle Alfie Hoar Luise Vassie

Gareth Cairns Mark Hollingsworth Daphne Vlastari
Charlotte Christison Paul Jackson Maciej Walerowski
Dr James Claverley Tim Julier Dr Kathryn Walsh
Joseph Clift Michael Keating Anna Weatherburn

Gillian Collinson Harry Kelly Dr Anne Westcott
Gavin Costigan John Lowe BEM Sue Wharton







An All-Party Parliamentary Group

Muriel Cozier Jim Monaghan Colin Danson **Tom Nicols**

Helen Dent Dr Katie Perry

Professor Narender Ramnani Dr John Dudeney

Michael Williams **Professor Jeremy Woods**

Leigh Jeffes, John Slater and Karen Smith were in attendance.

1. Welcome and Introduction from the Chair

The Rt. Hon Caroline Nokes welcomed all present to the Annual General Meeting and confirmed that the meeting was quorate.

2. Apologies for Absence - Parliamentary Members:

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Chris Green MP

Lord Hacking

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Lucas

Baroness Nicholson

Chi Onwurah MP

Daniel Poulter MP

Graham Stringer MP

The Rt Hon Ben Wallace MP

Non- Parliamentary Members:

Prof Sheila Crispin **Douglas Mills** Stephen Turner **Dr Trevor Crichton** Carl Petrokofsky Sylwia Wasiak **Prof Cummings** Richard Prager Dr Tony Whitehead **Prof Michael Elves** Prof Chris Rapley CBE Prof Mike Wood

Simon Yun-Farmbrough

Prof Andy Long Davide Sciortino Prof Graham Machin Prof Mark E. Smith

Dame Julie Maxton Eisah M. Suleman

3 Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 25th April 2023 had been circulated.

Viscount Stansgate proposed that the Minutes should be accepted, this was seconded by Stephen Metcalfe MP and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.



PARLIAMENTARY AND SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE



An All-Party Parliamentary Group

4 **Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting** held on Monday 18th March 2024 had been circulated.

Viscount Stansgate proposed that the Minutes should be accepted, this was seconded by Stephen Metcalfe MP and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.

5 The election of Chair and three other officers to the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee

(All- Party Parliamentary Subject Group)

Stephen Metcalfe MP, Carol Monaghan MP, Chi Onwurah MP and Viscount Stansgate had confirmed their willingness to stand as Officers of the APPG.

Stephen Metcalfe proposed that they should be elected:

Stephen Metcalfe MP - Chair and Registered contact.

Viscount Stansgate - President Carol Monghan MP - Officer Chi Onwurah MP - Officer

This was seconded by Carol Monaghan MP and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.

Income and Expenditure Statement for 2023 - the statement had been circulated together with the Management Accounts for 2023.

A copy of the Statement is available on the Committee's website: https://www.scienceinparliament.org.uk/publications/annual-reports/

Stephen Metcalfe MP proposed that the Income and Expenditure Statement should be approved, this was seconded by Viscount Stansgate and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.

7 Annual Report for 2023 – the Annual Report had been circulated.

A copy of the Annual Report is available on the Committee's website: https://www.scienceinparliament.org.uk/publications/annual-reports/

Stephen Metcalfe MP proposed that the Annual Report should be approved, this was seconded by Lord Rooker and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.



PARLIAMENTARY AND SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE



An All-Party Parliamentary Group

8 To approve the Due Diligence Statement in relation to foreign government funding – the statement had been circulated.

Viscount Stansgate proposed that the Statement should be approved, this was seconded by Stephen Metcalfe MP and agreed nem-con by the Parliamentary Members in attendance.

The meeting ended at 5.08pm.

The Parliamentary and Scientific Committee is an All-Party Parliamentary Group funded by Membership – for details go to https://www.scienceinparliament.org.uk/publications/annual-reports/Registered address: 2nd Floor, 201 Great Portland St, London W1W 5AB

Chair and Registered Contact – Stephen Metcalfe MP, email: Stephen.metcalfe.mp@parliament.uk